I know

“I know that I may not be the best person in the whole world
But at least I know who I am
And I don’t try to hide the truth from others
And I may not always be right
And at least I tried though
Unlike you
Who stood cold and did not speak word

I know that I may not be the best person in the whole country
But at least I know who I am and where I go
And when I look in the mirror I don’t lie to my face
And I don’t pretend I did right the whole day
Because I know that I’m not perfect
And at least I tried though
Unlike you
Who covered up the mistakes rather than fixing them

I know that I may not be the best person in the whole state
But at least I know what to do
And I don’t try to block my fears
And I don’t pretend that everything that went wrong is someone else’s fault
Because I know if I fall I have to get up
And at least I tried you know
Unlike you
Who stays on the floor waiting for someone to help you get back together

I know that I may not be the best person in my whole town
But at least I know what to do and when to do it
And I don’t run away from my problems
And I don’t try to ignore their existence
Because I know that by that they wont go away
And I least I tried you know
Unlike you
Who would instead of accepting your failures, you’d say that everything is okay

I know that I may not be the best person in my whole life
But I at least I know who I am and where I go
And what to do and when to do it
And yes I know that after this I may make mistakes
And that I wont do the things as I said
But at least I’m real with myself
And I try not to play games
Because I know what I want and how I’ll get it
Unlike you
Who would rather be told who to be and where to go
And what to do and when to do it
Unlike you
I want to make a difference in my life
I want to change the pattern
And I want to open up more choices for me
And make my dreams come true
And make my own choices
And live my own life
I want to be someone
And I want to grow up
I want to learn from my mistakes
Rather than have someone fixing them
I want to be me
And I want to have dreams
I just want to be someone independent and debt free.”

~ Laura Regus

Leave a Reply

